Frequently Asked Questions
- How do I get transportation for my child?
Routing is based upon the legal address the school has on file for a student. It is the parent’s responsibility to provide documentation of their 911 address to the school(s). Transportation will assign a bus stop, in alignment with School Board policy and state guidelines.
- How far will my child be required to walk?
CCSB Policy 8.13 states when a student lives within 1.5 miles of the school he/she attends, the student will walk to that school. When a student lives more than 1.5 miles from the school he/she attends, but within 1.5 miles of any school, the student will walk to the nearest school and go by shuttle bus to the school he/she attends. When a student lives more than 1.5 miles from any school, the student will walk to the bus stop designated by the Director of Transportation; provided no student will be required to walk more than .5 miles to a bus stop. Students will be required to be at the place designated on the loading side both morning and afternoon and ready to board the bus at the time indicated on the bus schedule.
- Why is the bus late?
School bus drivers can have the same reasons as motorist have for being late. Traffic delays, weather conditions, accidents or driver illness are just a few reasons. School buses also have mechanical breakdowns or “no starts” that cause delays in picking students up on time. The school bus driver must run the entire route in the morning regardless of any delays.
If a bus arrives at the school late the driver will send a note to the front office. The school bus driver will make every effort in the morning to be at each bus stop and assigned schools at the same time as much as humanly possible. If your child’s bus is continuously operating off schedule, please call the transportation office at 386-755-8062 or 755-8060.
- Is my child required to wear a seat belt?
Yes, Florida Statute 316.6145 requires the use of seat belts by all students on a school bus with safety belts or restraint systems. Students shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt at all times while the bus is in operation. The law requires the proper usage of the safety belt, therefore the passenger must be seated in a seat with an operable belt.
- Can I get my student off the bus at a stop other than their designated stop?
For the safety of all students, no student may depart the bus at any location other than his/her assigned bus stop and/or school.
- My child needs to go home with a friend or get off at a different bus stop from his/her assigned bus stop?
Bus passes can only be issued for an existing bus stop on a temporary basis. Parent/Guardian will need to send a written request to the principal for approval. Request may only be granted if the bus is not operating at full capacity. If request is approved student will hand pass to bus driver upon boarding bus. Bus driver cannot accept hand written notes from parent/guardian, request must be approved by principal.
- Can my child use his/her cell phone on the bus?
Wireless communication devices can be used on a school bus. Students can only use only one ear piece. One ear must remain clear for emergency instructions from the bus driver or bus aide. Violation of the above may result in imposition of disciplinary action, and us in a criminal act will result in criminal penalties. (Section 1006.07 Florida Statutes)